Consumed.

Consumed.

That is the word I’d use to describe my life lately. I have been consumed ….

By the endless “to do” list. By work. By fun and laughter. By responsibilities. By a calendar that seems to never give a break.

And consumed slowly begins to feeling like being smothered, which brings with it weariness and worry.

In the past week, I’ve been very convicted that I needed to slow down.

No, not because of any monumental event nor because the responsibility list gave any relief … but because it was right.

We’re not made to go that hard for that long without stopping. It’s not a healthy place to be physically, emotionally, or mentally.

Or spiritually.

Because you see my thought today as I went about some much-needed housework was this: When was the last time that I was consumed by God?

I mean it. When was the last time that my first thought upon awakening or my last thought of the day was focused on God?  When did His glory, His name, His will echo through every word and every breath?

You see, when you are consumed by God, He in turn consumes YOU. Yes, He envelopes you with His love and grace. He surrounds you with incredible peace of mind and wisdom for the moment.

Therefore, since we are receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, let us be thankful,
and so worship God acceptably with reverence and awe, for our God is a consuming fire.
~~~ Hebrews 12:28-29 ~~~

It’s in this complete consumption, that we find the strength to walk through the obligations that never seem to end, the worries that threaten to rob us of sleep, the conflicts or burdens weighing us down. And it’s in this total abandon that we experience inexplicable joy – one that reaches down to the very core of our soul and can’t help but overflow onto each and every moment.

What consumes you?

If  you’re like me, maybe you have found yourself slowly becoming consumed by life’s responsibilities instead of by God.

My friend, take care of yourself. Slow down. Look around at all the wonderful blessings that surround you. Being at your very best – which is what you can only be if you have been consumed by God – is where you will accomplish the most on every level. It’s this kind of surrender that will bring glory to God.

I would beg you to kneel alongside me and turn your eyes to our precious, loving Father and allow yourself to become consumed by Him.

Hey now, this is my desire
Consume me like a fire, ’cause I just want something beautiful
To touch me, I know that I’m in reach
‘Cause I am down on my knees.
I’m waiting for something beautiful
Oh, something beautiful

Chorus of “Something Beautiful” by Need to Breathe

God, please help me be more consumed with you than I am with anything else.
And please overwhelm me with your infinite love and beautiful grace.
Amen. 

2 responses to “Consumed.

  1. Yes, yes, yes! I need to be consumed, too. I’ve been closer to it lately than in a long time, but I want more of His love and goodness and grace…and discipline. I want more of HIM! Thank you for putting my desires into words so well!

    • Thanks, Jana! I agree – I am so consumed by everything BUT God most days and yet the longing of my heart is just to stop long enough to let Him totally consume me! Hope you have had a good week, friend!

I'm blessed to have you visiting my blog today! Please feel free to share your thoughts below - I'd truly love to hear from you!

