Change.

I’m still thinking today about how swiftly life can change. It doesn’t have to be life and death. Sometimes it can just be news that jars you from one path in life suddenly onto another.

And nothing is ever the same again.

My friend’s daughter (see 38) actually realized the serious nature of her symptoms from an email. It was an email that a coworker shared with our entire staff, and my friend then forwarded her daughter. You know the emails … the ones that, in the haste of everyday living, you’re tempted to delete without even opening.

But this one she watched. And she knew.

She knew before the video ended what she was facing. She made a doctor’s appointment for the next day – and her diagnosis and treatment journey began only a day later. 48 short hours that forever changed her life.

She hadn’t even had her first mammogram yet – she wasn’t even 35. Besides that, inflammatory breast cancer doesn’t have the “normal” symptoms that most breast cancers do. It can be easily missed on a mammogram and its symptoms can be quickly dismissed as an infection of some sort. Yet its progression is swift, and unfortunately its prognosis is poor.

If not for that email, if not for that YouTube video – she likely wouldn’t be here today.

~~~~~~~~~~

I would be remiss if I did not follow yesterday’s post with a little information. After all, it is the least I can do to honor the battle that my friend’s daughter is fighting.

I can’t show you the same YouTube video that she first saw as it’s no longer there, but here is information from the Susan G. Komen foundation about Inflammatory Breast Cancer.  Please take a moment to read it, and share it with those you love. It could save their life.

2 responses to “Change.

  1. You are so right about how quickly our lives can change. I’ll be praying for your friend’s daughter. I saw your comment on Paper Bag Princess and thought I’d stop over here and say hello. Keep writing!

    • I know they’ll cherish your prayers, Abbey. Thanks so much for stopping by – I am enjoying getting to explore your blog as well!

I'm blessed to have you visiting my blog today! Please feel free to share your thoughts below - I'd truly love to hear from you!

