Heaven Is For Real – By Todd Burpo

Heaven is for real … and you’re going to like it!

This seemingly innocent line is the catchphrase of this quick, 154 page read, and yet its story reveals the life-altering truth the phrase encompassed for the Burpo family: during a fierce battle to survive after an emergency appendectomy, their nearly 4-year-old son actually visited heaven. In this book, Todd Burpo tells the story of his son Colton’s illness, the revealing comments his son shared in the months and years afterward and the ways in which he and his wife came to believe that his son truly had been in the presence of God in heaven.

I give this book 4 1/2 stars. Although I was born and raised in a Christian home, I’ll confess that I approached this book a skeptic. Yes, that’s right – I wondered if it was a gimmick. But then I began to read, and as I began to read, I believed. You see, even Todd and his wife Sonja are a little doubtful as Colton begins to make comments indicating that he visited heaven. But then Todd (with Lynn Vincent) walks us through their own journey from doubt to belief as Colton shares details that he could not have known otherwise. This book is beautifully written, giving just enough detail to capture your attention, convince your mind, and leave your heart curious and wondering. I finished the book no longer a skeptic and, even more, reflecting upon the loved ones who’re already there, enjoying the wonder of heaven, surrounded by the magnificent love and presence of God. I would definitely recommend that you read this book.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com  book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

I'm blessed to have you visiting my blog today! Please feel free to share your thoughts below - I'd truly love to hear from you!

