A Journey Toward Thankfulness (Day 1)

I am blessed. No, really. I am BLESSED.

Is my life perfect? Goodness, no! But when I stop to consider what God has done for me, I can’t help but be overwhelmed by just how amazingly fortunate I am.

Sometimes I forget that, though. Life barrels through the door, things don’t go my way, I get busy, people disappoint. Whatever the cause, the end result is that it fogs up my life windshield, and I lose sight of the many blessings that surround me.

That’s why I decided to participate, formally, in 30 days of Thanks this Thanksgiving. I’ll be the first to say I’m not big on “gimmicks,” so I usually shy away from things like this out of fear that it will end up empty and meaningless, and my voice will be drowned out by the rest of the masses. But today I realized that I don’t care about the masses.

Forgive me, that didn’t come out right. I care very much about the masses. And I’m also so glad that many of them choose to participate in a focus on their blessings in November and exercise gratefulness. But what I DO mean is that my participation here is wholly personal. I’m participating because I need to exercise gratefulness more faithfully, and so I choose to appreciate the voices ringing around me, but focus in on the little whisper I’m adding to the clamor, the offering of praise I’m lifting up to the One who has chosen to bless my life.
20121101-203803.jpg
With that, today is day one, and it would be foolhardy for me to fail to start my journey remembering that were it not for my Almighty Savior, my Loving Father, I would be and have nothing. So today, I am thankful for God, who created me, loved me, saved me, and continues to protect and care for me in every second of every day. I cannot fathom facing life without Jesus. I cannot say enough just how much He means to me.

 

I'm blessed to have you visiting my blog today! Please feel free to share your thoughts below - I'd truly love to hear from you!

