A Journey Toward Thankfulness (Day 2)

Today, I am thankful for my parents. I’m so lucky to have a Mom and a Dad who are still happily married after nearly 45 years.  It seems a rarity nowadays, and one that I do not take for granted.

I was not the perfect child, by any stretch, nor did I have the perfect family. But that’s part of what makes me so thankful – because my family’s real – and we love each other nonetheless.

My Mom is fabulous. She’s one of those people who seems to know a little bit about everything, and a lot about many things. She’s faithful to the core, and has sacrificed so much for my sake and my sister’s sake over the years. She’s truly selfless, always wanting what we want more than what she wants. I admire that in her.  She supported me through my sassy teenage years, and has become a trusted friend in my adult years.

My Dad is amazing. He and I have very different personalities, but he’s always respected me for exactly who I am. He has pushed me to accomplish more than I may have thought myself capable of otherwise – all because he sees my potential.  He has always provided for our family, and even now that I’m well into adulthood, he always seems to be finding ways to look out for me.  He’s taught me to step back and view things from a logical perspective – something that doesn’t always come naturally for this sensitive gal.

I cannot imagine having a better pair of parents than the ones with whom God blessed me.  I am who I am today because of them.  So today, my heart is shouting words of gratitude for the blessing that my parents are to me.

One response to “A Journey Toward Thankfulness (Day 2)

  1. Pingback: Thankful- Special Relationships « hiccupsandheels

I'm blessed to have you visiting my blog today! Please feel free to share your thoughts below - I'd truly love to hear from you!

