A Journey Toward Thankfulness (Day 3)

“Sisters function as safety nets in a chaotic world simply by being there for each other.” ~~Carol Saline

~~~~~~~~~~

I’m the baby sister. I have a fantastic big sister who’s 4 1/2 years older than me (of course, I don’t ever mind reminding her of that)!

As little kids, we got along only when we needed to.  We were just far enough apart in ages that our lives were on completely different planes – I wanted to be just like her, and she wanted nothing to do with me.  I don’t blame her … after all, who wants to have a tag-a-long little sister following you around all the time, mimicking you and getting into your stuff?

Our relationship began to change when she went to college, but changed even more once I got into college.  Now that we’re both well into adulthood, my sister is one of my best friends.  Rarely does a week go by that we don’t have a good chat or two on the phone, and I know that if I need her, she is there.

I love getting to watch her now as a mother.  I am so proud of her. We may be adults now, but I still learn from and look up to my big sister – and I always will.

I love you, sister.

I'm blessed to have you visiting my blog today! Please feel free to share your thoughts below - I'd truly love to hear from you!

