Prayers of a Stranger – By Davis Bunn

Davis Bunn’s book is the story of Amanda Vance and her journey to healing after the loss of her baby a year before. In an unexpected yet completely believable turn of events, Amanda joins her neighbor on a trip to the Holy Land shortly before the Christmas holidays.  Upon embarking on the trip, Amanda’s past year has been so clouded by her pain that she can hardly see past its fog to anything else. Through an unexpected encounter at the Wailing Wall and the prayers of many, Amanda finds healing on her journey. Not only that, but several other characters find healing of their own throughout this book.

I give this book a wholehearted five stars.  I first met Davis Bunn as an author when I read The Book of Hours, but it’s been many years since I’ve read another of his books.  

I really loved how drawn I was to Amanda and several of the other characters in the book – I was truly invested in their struggles and their journey, and cared about what was going to happen to them. I also appreciated the sensitivity with which Bunn treated the struggles that the characters encountered, knowing that many readers may have also encountered similar struggles. Not only that, but the struggles and the reactions to them were realistic – as was the overall plot of the story.  That’s not to say that it was your every day “run of the mill” series of events or trip to the Holy Land, but it was definitely a reminder that when God and prayer get involved, anything is possible.

I adored this book and cannot wait to buy a couple of copies to give away.  Although I’ve not faced the specific struggles of the characters in the book, the resounding lesson is one that we could all benefit from hearing again and again: sometimes the best way to find healing is to step outside of yourself and minister to someone else in need.

Please read this book – you won’t be sorry!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com  book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

I'm blessed to have you visiting my blog today! Please feel free to share your thoughts below - I'd truly love to hear from you!

