A Journey Toward Thankfulness (Day 6)

“Freedom makes a huge requirement of every human being.
With freedom comes great responsibility.”
~~Eleanor Roosevelt~~

Today, Election Day, I am grateful for the wonderful freedom that I have (that we all have) here in the United States. No matter the outcome of today’s races, no matter how nervous I may be about it, the end result is that I had the opportunity to be a part of it as a U.S. citizen – and I exercised it.

I wonder sometimes how many of us take that freedom for granted. I’m not just talking about the freedom we have to participate in voting for our elected officials – I’m talking about our freedom to worship, to speak, to believe, to pursue our dreams.  I indict myself in that statement as much as anyone. After all, it’s easy to become complacent and forget that we did not always have such freedom in this country – and it’s not a guarantee that we always will

“Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction.
We didn’t pass it to our children in the bloodstream.
It must be fought for, protected, and handed on for them to do the same.”
~~Ronald Reagan~~

I pray fervently for our country and the years ahead.  Never before have our freedoms seemed so tenuous, so fragile. May we return to the very foundations upon which we built this country.  May we be thankful for our amazing freedom, and remember at every turn to protect and cherish it.

I'm blessed to have you visiting my blog today! Please feel free to share your thoughts below - I'd truly love to hear from you!

