A Journey Toward Thankfulness (Day 10)

 

Oh, how I love Saturdays! They are the only day of the week when I get to pick the schedule … whether I get up early or sleep in a little, whether I get ready or stay in my sweats all day, whether I go out with friends or spend the day alone, whether I work or relax.  Usually, Saturday is the one day with some flexibility to it, and I look forward to it all week long.

Don’t get me wrong – I would not want a week full of Saturdays.  I crave schedule and structure, and without it, I tend to get a little lost and even somewhat down.  But Saturday is a reminder that we all need to slow down, that we don’t have to go at breakneck speed 24/7.

It’s usually a day that gets filled with a hodge podge of things that I’ve put off doing the rest of the week, but sometimes it’s a day when I just stop.  These are the rarest of Saturdays – the ones where I curl up on the sofa with a good book, a hot chocolate, and a good movie on TV. I relish these scattered moments, and I rely on them to nourish my spirit for another round of busyness, the constant state of life.

 

Oh, how I am thankful for Saturdays.

I'm blessed to have you visiting my blog today! Please feel free to share your thoughts below - I'd truly love to hear from you!

