Song of the Brokenhearted – by Sheila Walsh & Cindy Coloma

Song of the Brokenhearted is the story of Ava, who has a wonderful family and home. She lives out her faith daily by ministering to those facing struggles like death, divorce, and illness – the brokenhearted.

Suddenly, however, Ava’s life takes a turn and the security she’s known begins to slip away.  As events unfold and current circumstances overwhelm, she is forced to face her childhood, the childhood she’s spent her life running away from.

As she faces what lies before her, Ava learns that sometimes you have to be willing to lose everything in order to be healed.

I give this book 3 stars. I liked it, but I can’t say that I loved it. It had an excellent message about having faith in God and that He will take care of us – no matter what. But most of the characters in the story are underdeveloped, and the plot seems to stall along the way in several places, generally when the authors are trying to use Ava’s childhood events to bring home a point. Unfortunately, they did not shed enough light on those events to help the point be made – we’re really just left feeling unresolved. Also, I was disappointed that the ending of the story only comes to a semi-conclusion. We really don’t end up knowing what happens with Ava and her family in respect to the many different plot lines that were woven into the story.

That said, I didn’t dislike the book either. It was just a sweet little story that read pretty quickly and was heart-warming. I just think it could have been so much better with a little more development of the characters and a few less plot lines.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com  book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

I'm blessed to have you visiting my blog today! Please feel free to share your thoughts below - I'd truly love to hear from you!

