He Chose the Nails – By Max Lucado

What God Did to Win Your Heart

In this book, Lucado walks through the story of the cross – from the crown of thorns to the soldier’s spit to the lashes to the cross – and through each reveals the promises that God whispered to us about His love in that precise moment, the unconditional, overwhelming love Christ had for us in facing each of those horrific moments, as He continually chose obedience and love instead of the easier, less painful path.

I give this book three stars.  Please don’t consider this a bad review because I did like the book – I think I just didn’t put it down feeling as completely overwhelmed by God’s love for me as I thought I would based on the cover that so grabbed me.

The cover has a picture of a hand-crafted cross that someone gifted to Max (he tells the story in his Acknowledgements), and it was this cover that first grabbed my attention. After that, the title and subtitle just cemented my thirst to hear what Max had to say.

Honestly, I think that I was expecting the same deep emotion that so captivated me from Six Hours One Friday, which remains one of my favorite Max Lucado titles.  I cannot say that this book did not speak to me nor that Lucado did not accomplish his goal of revealing how each step to and at the cross revealed Christ’s choices to demonstrate His amazing love for us.  But I just didn’t feel the same stirring in my heart here, perhaps more fault of my own than the author’s.  Please read this book and give it a chance on your own – I plan to go back and reread it again another day, because I know that Lucado never fails to deliver such solid, scripturally-based examples of God’s love for us and His plan for our daily lives.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com  book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

I'm blessed to have you visiting my blog today! Please feel free to share your thoughts below - I'd truly love to hear from you!

