A Journey Toward Thankfulness (Day 20)

I’m so grateful that I grew up in the Texas Panhandle. A lot of people don’t “get” the unique beauty of the plains … they see sparse trees and flat land as far as the eye can see, and come away feeling it’s all just dust and wind.  Yes, there’s definitely wind here and our fair share of dust – but oh, you should see the sunsets. Those open skies lend themselves to a brilliant display of oranges, pinks, and reds across the horizon.

Photo Credit

 

Where I grew up, people yield when it says to yield, move over so you can pass them on the highway (and wave if they pass you), and are genuinely nice.  Smiles are prevalent, generosity abounds, and everyone is your neighbor.

No, I did not grow up riding horses to school or wearing cowboy hats. We are normal people here with normal jobs, normal stores, normal hobbies. There just happen to be a lot of cattle ranches and oil wells outside of town instead of suburbs. 🙂

I love where I live now, but whenever I drive home, my stresses seem to start slipping away as the trees start dwindling down … it’s good to come home. To be home.  I was blessed to be raised here, and still blessed to get to come back here.  Thank you, God, for the unique beauty of the Texas Panhandle and my hometown.

One response to “A Journey Toward Thankfulness (Day 20)

  1. Although I grew up in the mountains of NC where the landscape is far different from the Texas Panhandle, the “atmosphere” here is much as you described. The only areas I’ve visited in Texas are Dallas and Houston….much bigger cities with little to none of that serenity you mentioned but those sunsets are definitely a Texas thing. I have photos of several. Enjoy your time at home! Happy Thanksgiving to you, dear friend!

I'm blessed to have you visiting my blog today! Please feel free to share your thoughts below - I'd truly love to hear from you!

