December Challenges #1

I am not sure how well this will work, but I am going to give it a try.  I am going to try to walk through December participating in both the “photo a day” challenge and second, dusting off a Christmas memory that I’ve tucked away so I can appreciate it all over again. At the moment, I’m not sure that the two will complement one another (or if they will), but that’s part of the fun! 🙂

Photo-Of-The-Day (Day 1 = Your View Today)

I’ve never done a photo challenge before, and I don’t consider myself a very good photographer, but I stumbled across this tonight on two different blogs and it just seems too much fun to pass up, so off I go! I’m not sure how creative I’ll be here, but I’ll try to throw in a few not-so-lame pictures as I can. 🙂

The December 1 challenge is “Your View Today.”  Here it is, folks.  Yep, that’s what I spent most of December 1 doing – catching up on my DVR.  After a maddening last 19 days of November (mostly out of town), all I wanted to do was just be home and be lazy for awhile – so I did.  And it was wonderful.

photo 1

If you have any ideas for decorating the two CD/accessory towers on the sides of my TV, feel free to suggest.  I recently removed the two plants I’ve had there for months because my cats simply won’t stop eating them (and then immediately vomiting on the carpet. Ugh.) So now I’m a little lost on what to do!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Christmas Memory-A-Day

I’ll start with a not-so-flattering story with the hopes that somewhere down the line, maybe you’ll see that I am really not so terrible after all.

When I was a sophomore in college, my family went to spend Christmas in Tucson with my Mom’s parents. It turns out that this would be our last Christmas or holiday to spend with either my Grandpa or my Grandma, as they both passed away within that next year.  I will never forget that we’d loaded up a big box in our van that was labeled as a gift to me from my Mom and Dad.  Mind you, I was NOT a peeker – that distinction belonged to my sister.  But I am human and couldn’t help but try to think through what could be in the box.  I had all kinds of grand ideas.

Little did I know that when I unwrapped the box that Christmas morning, I would find … a sewing machine.  Yes, a sewing machine.  I know, some of you would be ecstatic to unwrap this.  However, lest you don’t know me well, please note:
1) I am not crafty. At all.  If I am extremely lucky, I can copy something crafty and hope it turns out to be halfway acceptable.
2) My Mom and sister both are – very much so. Why would I try to compete with that?
3) I was 20.
4) A sewing machine was certainly NOT on my list.

I can picture the look on my face now – actually I think there is a picture somewhere that DID capture the look on my face.  It was this mixture of confusion, dismay, and “how in the world do I act even remotely pleased about this?”  Bless my Mom’s heart, she must have seen the look on my face because her immediate comment was, “I know it wasn’t on your list. But someday, someday you’ll thank me for this.”

Well, it’s nearly 20 years later and I think my Mom is STILL waiting for that thank you.  OK, perhaps that is an exaggeration. I do still own the sewing machine and it is in nearly pristine condition.  I have actually used it – twice. (Yes, only twice.)  I think I have loaned it out at least three times that.  So I can’t say that it has not been useful in some circumstances … but I will say that my poor Mom’s dream of turning me into a seamstress in that moment, with that gift, was never realized.

One response to “December Challenges #1

  1. I love the challenge!!! I hope you’ll keep it up!

I'm blessed to have you visiting my blog today! Please feel free to share your thoughts below - I'd truly love to hear from you!

