The Trouble with Cowboys – By Denise Hunter

_225_350_Book.701.cover

A Big Sky Romance

This book is a story about Annie Wilkerson, who lives in Moose Creek and works as a respected horse trainer.  She’s also an equine columnist for a magazine, but soon becomes the unanticipated lovelorn columnist instead. Given that Annie’s never been in love, her mother fell in love with a cowboy who deserted them, and her younger sister came back from a summer trip pregnant and without a husband, she doesn’t exactly fit the bill to give love advice to the masses.

Much to her chagrin, she finds herself making a deal with Dylan Taylor, a smooth-talking cowboy – and ladies’ man. He’ll help her answer the readers’ letters if she’ll help his soon-to-be-blind horse, Braveheart.

Unfortunately working together is not an easy feat, and Annie begins to realize that she might have misjudged Dylan – though her resentment toward past circumstances leave her unwilling (or unable) to admit it.

The Trouble with Cowboys is a story of letting God take control, of surrender, of trust, and of risk.

I give this book four stars.  I wish I had known there was a book that came before it so I could have read that one first, but now I look forward to reading all three books in the series even if out of order!  I hadn’t read anything by Denise Hunter before and although I do have to say the ending is a little cheesy and “happily ever after,” I am also well aware that sometimes these are precisely the kind of reads that we need.

This was such a cute story and Hunter definitely does a great job of developing her characters.  I adored the two main characters – but also found myself incredibly frustrated with them sometimes … why couldn’t they just see what I could see and get together?!  That’s the makings of a great love story.  Hunter also does an excellent job developing her secondary characters, whose interwoven plot lines help carry the story along to its conclusion.

If you’re in the mood for a feel-good, quick and easy read, this is certainly the choice for you!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com  book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

2 responses to “The Trouble with Cowboys – By Denise Hunter

  1. “The Trouble with Cowboys – By Denise Hunter | A Genuine Glimpse” ended up being a superb posting,
    can not help but wait to go through more of ur blogs. Time to squander some time on-line
    hehe. Thanks for your effort ,Andreas

  2. Thanks a lot for using free time to post “The Trouble with Cowboys – By Denise Hunter | A Genuine Glimpse” cherrymusic .
    Thanks a ton yet again ,Lindsay

I'm blessed to have you visiting my blog today! Please feel free to share your thoughts below - I'd truly love to hear from you!

