December Challenges #4

Photo-Of-The-Day (Day 4 = Joyous)

33867_4673524043783_458493461_n

After a full day at work, imagine the joy when I drove into my driveway and saw this beauty blooming, loud and proud, in my flower bed!  I’m no gardener, but my guess is that full rose blooms in December are likely not your every day occurrence, so I couldn’t help but stop to take a picture.  What a nice way to end the day!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Christmas Memory-A-Day

To build on yesterday’s story about stockings, last year my niece decided she wanted to join in the fun.  As she has gotten older and her understanding of all things Christmas has expanded, she has become more and more intrigued with the chaos that results in our family stocking adventure.

Until last year, she was content to just ask a few questions and then “help” with the shopping.  Before I go on, I should clarify that whenever the whole family is together, I have been the designated “stocking stuffer” for many years.  The reason? Simple: I am the night owl of the family.  Well, my niece is becoming a bit of a night owl, too, and she begged us all to let her learn the “stocking stuffer” job with me on Christmas Eve.  Of course, we said yes, and she and I had so much fun late that night – it renewed the joy and excitement of the experience for me along the way. She had a ball and was already planning for this year before the stockings were filled.

Add that enthusiasm to her proclamation the next morning that she was old enough now to handle passing out the presents from under the tree to everyone by herself, and I was delighted.  (Being the baby of the family, somehow that task has been mine – alone – for the past 20+ years. I’ve spent the last 4-5 years slowly grooming her to take over.  Yes!!)

I'm blessed to have you visiting my blog today! Please feel free to share your thoughts below - I'd truly love to hear from you!

