Boundaries For Leaders – By Dr. Henry Cloud

boundaries

Boundaries for Leaders: Results, Relationships, and Being Ridiculously in Charge

Why Some People Get Results and Others Don’t

In this book, Dr. Cloud endeavors to show leaders how to behave so that they can attain the results that they desire in their organization and on their teams. He does this by helping leaders understand and create boundaries, which are “structures that determine what will exist and what will not.” Leaders will learn how to determine what matters most, establish the emotional climate that lends itself to productivity, limit negativity, and protect themselves in order to maintain the vision for the organization.

5stars

I give this book five stars. I found countless points in this to which I could relate, and am eager to begin doing so. I manage a team of people whose plates continue to get stacked higher and higher with new responsibilities (on top of already full plates) and sometimes the stress levels escalate and negativity threatens to set in. I work hard to keep things positive, but given that my own task list is generally sky high as well, I know that I can do more than I have and have been convicted about that in the past year but unsure what to do about it. This book has given me some very tangible action points for my coming years of leadership. I really appreciate the way that Dr. Cloud cuts to the chase by reminding us that in our organization, we are the decisive element – ultimately we decide what we create and/or allow to exist.

I think this is a book that should be on every leader’s shelf, well worn and read many times. I actually already had one of Dr. Cloud’s other books, Boundaries: When to Say Yes, When to Say No, To Take Control of Your Life, on my list to read soon, but received this book first. Now, I am even more eager to read the other book to see how the same general concept of boundaries can impact and improve my personal life as well!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com  book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

2 responses to “Boundaries For Leaders – By Dr. Henry Cloud

  1. Very interesting topic…one from which I could find benefits and applications as well. Will be seeking a copy of this book ASAP. Hope you are doing well!

    • I really enjoyed it, and plan to read it again soon. I am doing well – hope you are too! I have enjoyed reading your latest posts, and am glad you are back “on the grid” again! I am trying to be, but somehow it seems I only manage it nowadays when I have finished a book!

I'm blessed to have you visiting my blog today! Please feel free to share your thoughts below - I'd truly love to hear from you!

