Barefoot Summer – By Denise Hunter

barefootsummer

This book is about Madison’s quest to win the town’s regatta in memory of her twin brother who drowned several years before. However, time is short and she doesn’t know how to sail – or swim.

She seeks help from Beckett, and the chemistry begins. Between Beckett’s secret, the attraction between the two, and Madison’s quest to cope with her grief, can the two find a way to be together?

four stars of five

I give this book four stars. It’s an amazing story of romance, heartaches, loss, and healing wrapped up in one captivating package.  The one “flaw” of the book (if you can even call it a flaw) is that I felt like it took me longer to get into this book than it typically does with other Denise Hunter books.  There was quite a bit of background that had to be developed on the characters and their stories in order to make the rest of the story flow, and that seemed to take a long time to get through.  It’s not that this wasn’t interesting and didn’t help me connect to the characters – it’s just that while reading it, I knew that it wasn’t “the” story of the book and kept waiting to get to that story.

That said, I fell in love with the characters, their respective stories, and in the end, their mutual story.  Denise has a way of helping her readers connect deeply with the characters and so although I wanted to keep reading to see how the story ended, I simultaneously didn’t want it to because I knew that would mean parting ways with Beckett, Madison, and the other characters.

I definitely recommend that you read this book. It’s a great summer read by the pool or the beach – but is equally good cozied up on the sofa with a blanket and some hot cocoa.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com  book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

I'm blessed to have you visiting my blog today! Please feel free to share your thoughts below - I'd truly love to hear from you!

